Lee women’s golf team Scholar Team of the Year

July 17th, 2013

The Lee women’s golf team has been named the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics Scholar Team of the Year. The Lady Flames finished the academic year with a NAIA-best combined 3.93 grade-point average.

The team consists of sophomore Madison Alexander, senior Kristin Bourg, freshman Bernadette Little, senior Chelsea Rakestraw, junior Courtney Shelton and senior Sloane Skinner.

Rounding out the top five award winners are: Valley City State (N.D.) women’s golf (3.90), Tabor (Kan.) women’s cross country (3.81) and women’s tennis (3.81), and Doane (Neb.) women’s cross country (3.77).

The Lee men’s golf team was also selected as an NAIA Scholar Team. The squad recorded a 3.33 GPA. Members of the squad were freshman Taylor Davis, senior J.B. Eksteen, senior Matt Emery, junior Zack Lawson, freshman Florian Loutre, sophomore Scott Murray, freshman Peyton Sliger, senior Tyler Smith and junior Hunter Vest.

For a team to be considered for the NAIA Scholar-Team award, it must have a minimum 3.0 GPA (on a 4.0 scale) as defined by the institution. The team GPA includes all eligible varsity student-athletes.

Leave a Reply

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

Thank You to
Our Sponsors

Pilot Tennessee Titans University of Tennessee Martin CC Millwright Tazikis Mediterranean Cafe
Adams and Reese LLP Secertary of State Tre Hargett Vanderbilt University University of Tennessee University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Powell Companies