Mikelis Libietis and Hunter Reese, named ITA Doubles Team of the Year

June 19th, 2014

The honor typically is given to the team that ends the season ranked No. 1. Libietis and Reese started and ended the 2013-14 school year at the top of the national rankings and were ranked first or second all season.

The juniors won the NCAA doubleschampionship in addition to the ITA All-American Championships, one of college tennis’ fall majors. They finished their third season together with a 36-5 record with 10 wins against top-25 opponents.

Three Tennessee pairs have won the award inSam Winterbotham’s eight years as coach of the Vols. Two-time NCAA doubles finalists John-Patrick Smith and Davey Sandgren earned the honors in 2009. Smith collected the award again in 2011 when he teamed up with Boris Conkic.

Courtesy of: News Sentinel staff

Published by: Knoxville News Sentinel

Leave a Reply

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

Thank You to
Our Sponsors

Pilot Tennessee Titans University of Tennessee Martin CC Millwright Tazikis Mediterranean Cafe Delta Dental TN
Adams and Reese LLP Powell Companies Secertary of State Tre Hargett University of Tennessee University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Cox Oil Little General Hamilton-Ryker Curb Motorsports