Scott, Pearce to be inducted in TGHF

January 20th, 2015

Maggie Scott, a winner of 10 Tennessee Golf Association tournaments and 12 times the TGA Senior Player of the Year, and historian Gene Pearce head the Tennessee Golf Hall of Fame Class of 2015.

Also to be inducted are Horace F. Smith, who is credited with creating the first Tennessee amateur golf tournament, which in turn led to the formation of the TGA, and Edyth Duffield, who is credited with being the driving force behind the Women’s Tennessee Golf Association, an organization that later joined forces with the TGA.

Scott, of Charleston, won her first state tournament, the Women’s Amateur, in 1994. After reaching senior status, she dominated the TGA Senior Women’s Amateur, winning from 200103, 2005-08, 2010 and 2012. Scott earned state Senior Player of the Year honors in 1999, 2001-08, 2010 and 2012.

Pearce, who began his professional career as a sports writer for the Jackson Sun and Tennessean, authored “The History of Tennessee Golf: 1894-2001” and was credited with uncovering numerous events, tournament winners and players that otherwise may have been lost to history.

The induction date, location and other details have not been announced.

Published by: Knoxville News Sentinel

Leave a Reply

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

Thank You to
Our Sponsors

Pilot Tennessee Titans University of Tennessee Martin CC Millwright Tazikis Mediterranean Cafe Delta Dental TN
Adams and Reese LLP Powell Companies Secertary of State Tre Hargett University of Tennessee University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Cox Oil Little General Hamilton-Ryker Curb Motorsports