

Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame 501 Broadway Nashville, TN 37203 (615) 242-4750

# Minutes Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame Meeting – Nomination (East) January 27, 2020

The Eastern Region of the Nomination Committee of the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame ("TNSHOF") met this day at 1:00 PM ET for a meeting at William B. Greene Jr. Football Stadium (Ramsey Tower), 1300 Jack Vest Drive, Johnson City, TN 37064 or the call-in number for the meeting, being 615-741-7220 or 1-800-861-4031. Notice being given seven (7) days prior on the TNSHOF website and Facebook page. The meeting was called to order at 1:01 PM ET by Fulmer. Roll was called and a quorum was established, with the following members present.

## MEMBERS PRESENT<sup>1</sup>

**MEMBERS ABSENT** 

Julie Bennett
Dane Bradshaw
Scott Carter
Phillip Fulmer\*
Kenny Hawkins

**Chris Wampler** 

## **GUESTS PRESENT**

Alicia Widrig, Department of Tourist Development/Attorney & Secretary to SHOF Brad Willis, TNSHoF, Chief Advancement & Operations Officer Earl Nall and Gary Paris, Speaking on behalf of the 1958 Oakridge Football Team for the Historical Significant Achievement Award Jerry Caldwell, Speaking on behalf of 2020 Induction Class Nominee O. Bruton Smith

#### AGENDA

## Welcome, Fulmer

Welcome and Call to Order.

## Housekeeping, Widrig

- Roll Call.
- No statement of necessity required as majority of members participated in-person.
- Widrig, Request that if there are any other individuals on the telephone call or in-person other than Members that wish to be called upon to please state their name.

# **Review of Nominees**

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> An asterisk denotes participation via telephone.

- 1. Guests, Willis, Before reciting the nominees the Committee would like to offer for the guests speak first, in the interest of their time. Following the presentations, guests were instructed that they could stay; however, each elected to leave the meeting.
  - a. Nall, request that the 1958 Oakridge Football Team receive the Historical Significance Achievement Award.
    - i. Presentation highlights:
      - 1. 1958 National Champions
      - Integration. Oakridge was the first school in the South to be fully integrated and team member Mike Brady was a big part of welcoming students from Clinton after their school was bombed.
      - 3. Post Football Achievements.
        - Team members were engineers, nationally known architects, air force pilots, university professors with tremendous achievements.
        - b. When former vice president Al Gore put together a committee to support development a team member was on the committee.
    - ii. Motion by Fulmer to send the nomination of the 1958 Oakridge Football Team to the Nomination Committee for consideration for the Historical Achievement Award. Second by Bennett. All in favor with none opposed.
  - b. Caldwell, on behalf of 2020 Induction Class Nominee O. Bruton Smith. The current General Manager at Bristol Motor Speedway. Smith is a visionary of his time and because of that vision Bristol Motor Speedway track was built.
- 2. Full List of Regional Nominees, Willis
  - Current
    - Mark Aycock, martial arts
    - Sharrieffa Barksdale, track & field
    - Charlie Bayless, basketball coach
    - o Bob Brown, basketball
    - Chris Burke, baseball
    - Bill Carlyle, basketball coach
    - Dale Ford, official
    - Lon Herzbrun, football
    - Chris Loftin, baseball
    - Pete Mills, martial arts
    - Les Robinson, coach & administrator
    - Heath Shuler, football
    - O. Burton Smith, administrator, owner/operator
    - Ben Talley, golf
    - o Carl Torbush, football & baseball
    - o Fred Warren, golf coach
    - Chris Woodruff, tennis
  - Previous, within five (5) years of nomination
    - o Joseph Craig Colquitt, football
    - John Disterdick, boxer
    - Carl Torbush, football & baseball
    - William Garfield Wilson, martial arts
    - o Lewis Tippie, rifle
    - Patsy Neal, basketball

- Sonny Smith, basketball
- Ray Nettles, football
- William Steven Searcy, baseball
- o Randy Smith, official & media
- Ben Talley, golf
- Larry D. Butler, football
- o David Bibee, football
- William "Tank" Black, football
- o Bobby Snyder, basketball coach
- Johnny Mills, football
- Pete Mills, martial arts
- Ron Scalf, NASCAR & boxing
- o Bill Schmidt, track & field
- o Bill Bates, football
- Lon Herzbrun, football coach
- o Ernest Leon Westfield, baseball
- o Don Shaver, football
- Jim Davis, basketball coach
- Jenna Johnson, swimming
- Terry Crawford, track
- Cylk Cozart, basketball
- Posthumous
  - Samuel Strang Nicklin, baseball
  - John Tate, boxing
  - Glenn Knox, basketball & football
  - W. Ray Cannon, football, baseball & softball
- 3. Clarification on Nomination Date/Process, Willis
  - There will be two (2) slots that are preferred which will go to the full Board for an approval vote. Then each region has up to five (5) slots to bring forward for at-large consideration which will be discussed by the full Board and voted upon by the full Board.
  - Request that the names be kept confidential until the Board ready to release to the public.

## **Discussion of Nominees**

- Willis, Nominee Chris Loftin was determined not to meet the induction criteria as he is currently playing professional sports and is not over the age of fifty (50) years old.
- Board members then went through the current candidates and the biographies provided by Willis.

#### **Voting Process**

- Willis, Based upon Members discussion of Nominees, the following names were brought to the floor for discussion: 1) Shuler; 2) Barksdale; 3) Bates; 4) Tate; 5) Smith; 6)
   Woodruff; 7) B. Smith; 8) Burk; and 9) Torbush. From the nine (9) are there any that should be removed from consideration?
  - Hawkins motioned to remove Woodruff as he is still active with second from Carter. All in favor with none opposed.

- Following discussion, members elected to submit motions to the floor for consideration and following consideration discuss whether the candidate would be preferred or atlarge.
  - Bennett, Motion to move seven (7) through to final consideration, with voting to occur regarding preferred candidates. The seven (7) being: 1) Barksdale, 2) Shuler, 3) Bates, 4) Tate, 5) S. Smith, 6) Torbush, 7) B. Smith. Carter with second. All in favor with none opposed.
- Members then put motions to the floor regarding whether the candidate would be preferred or at-large.
  - Bennett, Motion for O. Bruton Smith to be one of the Eastern Region's preferred nominees with Hawkins as second. All in favor with none opposed.
  - Carter, Motion for Carl Torbush to be the second preferred nominee for the Eastern Region. Second from Hawkins. All in favor with none opposed.
  - The remaining five (5) nominees would be considered at-large candidates: 1)
     Barksdale, 2) Bates; 3) Tate; 4) S. Smith; and 5) Shuler.

<u>Review date for Full Board Meeting</u>, Willis. Reminder, that the Full Board meeting will occur on January 31, 2010 at 1:30 PM CT.

<u>Closing Remarks</u>, Bennett, As there is no further business, motion to adjourn the meeting with second from Bradshaw. All in favor with none opposed.

Approved:

\_<u>1/28/2021</u>\_\_ Date

Alicia C. B. Widrig

Attorney for the TNSHOF, acting Secretary Department of Tourist Development

Alicia C. B. Widrig