The University of the South 1899 football team Historical Achievement Award

February 27th, 2016

NASHVILLE, TN., March 1, 2016 — The Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame announced today that The University of the South 1899 football team will be honored as the Historical Achievement Award recipient at its 50th Anniversary Banquet on Saturday, June 18, 2016, at the Omni Nashville Hotel.


The University of the South in Sewanee, Tennessee made its place in the history of College Football in 1899. That year the Sewanee Tigers went 12-0-0, produced a College Football Hall of Famer HB Henry G. Seibels, and outscored their opponents 322 to 10. The 10 points were scored by a John Heisman coached team at Auburn.  Ten of their twelve victories were against Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association opponents, which put Sewanee in the record books for most conference games played and most won in a season.  What further distinguishes the Sewanee Iron Men in college football history is the remarkable schedule they played. Sewanee took the ultimate road trip to play five games in six days, and all five games were won in shutouts.  The Tigers travelled over 2500 miles on a train defeating Texas, Texas A&M, Tulane, Louisiana State, and Ole Miss.  This amazing team shut out the five best teams in the southern half of the United States.


In conjunction with our Honoree Class, the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame will be inducting, posthumously Tennessee Titan’s great Steve McNair and Baylor Golf Coach King Oehmig.  Additional inductees include Conrad Graham, University of Tennessee All-American defensive back;  Missy Kane, University of Tennessee Middle Distance Runner and bronze medal recipient at the Pan American Games; Mike Taylor, UT-Martin football player and current SEC football official; Ernest Gray, All-American and NFL star wide-receiver from the University of Memphis; Mike Curb, legend in automobile racing;  Joe Biddle, longtime middle Tennessee sport writer;  Lester McClain, first African American football player at Tennessee; the six Canale Brothers, football legends from the University of Tennessee and Mississippi State University, and Milligan College Athletic Director and longtime coach Duard Walker.


Other award recipients include Keenan Reynolds, United States Naval Academy Quarterback for his outstanding accomplishments achieving a FBS record in touchdowns and rushing yards by a quarterback, while demonstrating leadership and integrity both on and off the field; Coach Doug Dickey, the recipient of the 2016 Pat Summitt Lifetime Achievement Award for his major contributions in establishing the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame in its current format.



The Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame, which held its first induction banquet in 1966, has as its goal to enshrine successful teams and individuals who display sportsmanship, good character and success, creating a legacy for others to follow. The Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame is housed in the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville.


The Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame, a 501-C3, pays tribute to all those who have made an impact through sports in Tennessee. The Hall subscribes to the principle that sports serve society’s highest ideals by educating youth through sports. It promotes the virtues of competition, fair play, friendship, solidarity, mutual understanding and respect for human dignity. The best way to honor our sports legends is to pass this legacy down to future generations.



Contact: Lynn Powell Toy, TSHoF (615) 202-3996

Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame, 501 Broadway, Nashville, TN  37203


Leave a Reply

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

Thank You to
Our Sponsors

Pilot Tennessee Titans University of Tennessee Martin CC Millwright Tazikis Mediterranean Cafe Delta Dental TN
Adams and Reese LLP Powell Companies Secertary of State Tre Hargett University of Tennessee University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Cox Oil Little General Hamilton-Ryker Curb Motorsports